So, I went to see “Paranormal Activity” this past weekend, and I have to say it was pretty good. It’s not the scariest thing I’ve ever seen, nor was it as scary as I thought it was going to be. But it was a good show, and worth seeing. It’s in sort of the same vein as “The Blair Witch Project” which creeped me waaaaaay out as well. The way they’re shot are very similar, if not the same – jerky camera shots which spiral around quickly, leaving you pretty sick to your stomach if you’re prone to that sort of thing. One word of advice, don’t watch the previews. In one of them, a scene is shown which actually happens at the end of the movie; sort of spoils the moment because you know it’s coming. There were only a couple of “jerk your feet off the floor and grab whoever is sitting to your left” moments in the film, but it was a good story and it was very believable acting. I consider myself a horror vet, I’m a Stephen King fan from way back, love the genre. And I didn’t think it was all that scary, really. In fact, I didn’t think of it again, didn’t dwell on the scary bits all the rest of the day.

Until I had to get up to let the dogs out at 3am. All the lights in the house were off, and I didn’t turn any on as I made my way downstairs. I rummaged through the fridge looking for a tiny treat while I waited for them to do their business. Nibbled a bit, let them back in, clicked off the outside lights, re-locked the door and suddenly became aware of the entire house pressing down on me. In total darkness. My footsteps were so, so loud on the way back upstairs, and I could feel something behind me, watching me make my hurried way back up to bed. I believe I vaulted into bed from the bedroom doorway (about 8 feet) without coming in contact with any sort of floor. And as I lay awake listening to night-time house sounds, trying to slow my breathing, I comforted myself with the thought that at least I sleep on the opposite side of the bed as the chick in the movie, and it would most definitely get D first.

Good movie, man. Goood movie…..

