I saw this tidbit online at Tricycle Magazine, and I just have to share it. It’s stuck with me all day:

Healing does not mean curing, although the two words are often used interchangeably. While it may not be possible for us to cure ourselves or to find someone who can, it is always possible for us to heal ourselves. Healing implies the possibility for us to relate differently to illness, disability, even death, as we learn to see with eyes of wholeness. Healing is coming to terms with things as they are.

So very true……

And to completely change the subject, I found a new favorite funny from “Dr. Who”:

A girl says ,”I like old things – they make me sad.”
Her friend replies incredulously, “And that’s good, why??!”
The girl says, “Sad is happy for deep people.”

And no, I don’t know why that just makes me howl with laughter. Nobody ever accused me of making sense.

I’m thinking I’ll just post tidbits and word salad until I know what’s going on with the donor. I haven’t been able to think about her very much, I guess because I’m just so sick of the waiting and uncertainty. But I’m very impressed with her as a person – she has an inner strength that comes through on her application. She’s a firefighter (how cool is that?) And she was very, very honest on her application, very matter-of-fact. I have some big things in common with this woman – I really feel a connection. Now I’m starting to think about what kind of letter I’ll write to her, and my eyes are starting to sting and my throat’s closing up. And I’ve almost decided that if she falls through, I’m done – no more, I can’t take it. But who hasn’t decided they’re ready to walk away and then been yanked back into line like there’s a chain around their neck? Never say never, and concentrate on healing vs curing, I guess.

Food for thought…

