My own, that is!  So, for your viewing pleasure, here’s some more pics from out trip to Cabo San Lucas……

If two guys who are both afraid of heights…

can fling their asses over a ledge with this much enthusiasm….

D repelling

D repelling

And D was even singing to himself as he plunged into the abyss…

Me repelling (too scared to look up at the camera)

Me repelling (too scared to look up at the camera)

chickening out just wasn’t an option.

Especially since this madness was my idea.  Seriously.  I don’t know what came over me.  Maybe it was the promise of free tequila samples at the end….

The rest are just random samplings of the trip.  May I present, for your viewing pleasure:

Grand Mayan bedroom

Grand Mayan bedroom

Grand Mayan sitting area

Grand Mayan sitting area

Grand Mayan kitchen

Grand Mayan kitchen

HUGE cemetary across the street from our hotel.

HUGE cemetary across the street from our hotel.

I don’t know why, but cemetaries have always been fascinating to me.  When I was a little kid, my grandmother lived just up the street from this beautiful cemetary, with a duck pond.  The way we got to the duckpond from her house led through a small section of headstones, but it kept us out of the way of the traffic on the busy street it was located on.  At first I was creeped out by the prospect of walking across their heads, but I didn’t want to join them by getting killed in traffic either.  It was very important to me to make sure that if I did accidentally step on them, they knew I didn’t mean it.  So, to compensate for my clumsiness, I tried to make sure I read all the headstones as I passed so they knew they weren’t forgotten. And I sure didn’t want them coming after me (like they do), pissed off because I disturbed their sacred space.  I was about 10 years old, I think.  All the stories the people had, the litttle sayings on the tombstones, the shape and type of the headstones – I found it sort of mesmerizing.  I still think there’s a kind of solemn dignity and silent beauty there.  Or maybe I’m just a ghoul.  I did read an awful lot of Stephen King books…..

Anyhoots, back to the pics….

Mexican cemetary

Mexican cemetary

There’s probably a way to flip this, but I just can’t be bothered to figure it out yet…  I’m doing well not to have crashed anything yet!

Pool bar on a windy day

Pool bar on a windy day

The pool was on the other side of the hotel.  This particular day was so windy, an umbrella ripped itself out of the stand (two people were actually under it asleep) and got blown, fully intact, into the pool.  Lots of people left after that….

No se vende

No se vende

This quaint little abode was located on a hill right in the middle of the Sea of Cortez.  Apparently the owners get asked if they want to sell quite often.  No roof, no problem!

Scooby Doo

Scooby Doo

A rock formation in the Sea of Cortez, right next to the Arch (on all the postcards from Cabo San Lucas).  Pretend the picture’s right side up, and you can almost hear it asking where Shaggy is.

The Arch, Sea of Cortez

The Arch, Sea of Cortez

ta-daa!  No Cabo picture collection’s complete without this one.  The gateway to the Pacific….. the water in the Sea of Cortez is a beautiful green color, and the Pacific is a deep blue.  And it’s so clear you can tell right where the line is….

Best pool shot ever

Best pool shot ever

K, that’s it.  It was a great trip – we’ll be going back to Mexico sometime soon, I hope.

