What a day. I’m so completely blown away by the information I’ve just gotten that I’m almost speechless. I’m not sure how much sense this’ll make (still have to get all my info together, and I don’t see Dr. RE until next month), but here’s what the blood work showed (in mine and Dr. Google’s opinion). My APA (antiphospholipid antibody) panel showed that I’m positive for 4 antibody types: anticardiolipin, phosphatidylglycerol, phosphatidylserine and phosphatidylinositol (forgive the spelling – no clue). Those are completely implicated in recurrent pregnancy loss. Got that news this morning. Lifted my spirits quite a bit – something to blame things on besides me is always nice. Got home this evening to a message on my machine left by Dr. RE, and he had two more results to give me. My Lupus Anticoagulant Antibody titer was extremely positive. This indicates that I have a hypercoagulable condition (aka stroke risk), and means that I need to be taking 81 mg of aspirin/day for life, and if I get pregnant again I’ll need heparin shots in addition to the aspirin.

The other test was a MTHFR level (methylenetetrahydrofolate reductase – jeebus, what a mouthful), and it was low. That translates into I don’t absorb folate like I should (obvious problems with a pregnancy),  I need to be on something to compensate for that deficiency forever, and twice the amount if I get pregnant again. A deficiency in that enzyme can cause cardiovascular and heart problems later in life. Someone will call in a prescription for something. We’ll be much better prepared for my next IVF cycle, have a good night, he’ll see me in August..

I listened to all this with my mouth hanging wider and wider – after we’d listened to it again (by this time D made it to the kitchen to hear it as well), D turned to me and said ,”Looks like the little bugger might have saved your life” and gave me a bear hug. If it’s possible to have a good side to a miscarriage, I guess this is as close as it gets. I don’t know what to say. If not for this miscarriage, I could easily have stroked out, sooner rather than later judging by the numbers. My side of the family all have heart attacks and die early. Maybe now I know why. I’m stunned; and frankly a little nauseated. It’s almost like a cosmic apology…. I would have given my life for that child, who would have thought he’d beat me to it.

bodhisattva
n. Buddhism
An enlightened being who, out of compassion, forgoes nirvana in order to save others.

Melodramatic? Maybe.

Maybe not…….

